My Google SketchUp Adventure

Screen Shot 2013-12-19 at 03.49.59Screen Shot 2013-12-19 at 03.47.27Screen Shot 2013-12-19 at 03.48.07Over the last few months I have really been getting into Google SketchUp. It is completely free (along with a Pro/paid version) and is an open source software to design professional 3D and 2D models with ease simplicity. It’s major advantage is that the learning curve of Google SketchUp is very small and most users can learn how to operate the program within hours of first using.

Google SketchUp is open source, meaning that it is a platform is open for Rubyscript programers to develop plugins for this software. Allowing it to have versatility seen by no other design program. With the open source comes an immense amount of plugins available for the software. The possibilities are endless!

I had an idea likely to take up every minute of my spare time but Hey Ho. My plan was to completely capture my whole house inside and out with contents of every draw and cupboard accessible by using purpose built widgets to allow me to hover over a subject to provide details such as warranty cover, user manual etc. A bit like a complete home innovatory. I’ve even considered designing the actual shrubs in my garden with precise location with hidden information that can be accessed by hovering over with the curser to elicit details such as when it is best to prune and when it flowers.

It’s early days but the screenshots above give you a flavour of where I am at and yes that is my Toyota Prius outside……….

Leave a comment